# **NEPAL HORTICULTURE SOCIETY**

Nepal Horticulture Society is an independent nongovernmental organization that holds together all horticulturists working in diverse field of horticulture including private business. The main purpose of this organization is to promote and encourage national interest in horticulture. The society was established in 1990 with the following specific objectives:

#### **OBJECTIVES**

- To enhance public awareness towards the importance of horticulture.
- To promote and develop linkages with related national and international institutions/organizations/societies,
- To advise governmental and non-governmental organizations in planning and execution of horticulture development programs,
- To encourage and recognize professional horticulturists for their contribution and dedication in developing horticulture sector in the nation.
- To create conducive environment for the development of horticulture in Nepal,
- To develop a strong work ethic in horticulture,
- To promote horticulture as an integral part of environmental conservation activity.

#### **ACTIVITIES**

- Dissemination of technology through its various publications, workshop proceedings and etc.,
- Establishment of linkages with different agencies involved in horticulture.
- Arrangements of awards and scholarships to encourage and recognize horticulturists,
- Organization of seminar/workshops on horticulture,
- Collection of bio-data of professional horticulturists,
- · Consultancy services.

#### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:**

For executive functions, the society has an Executive Committee as follows:

Post & Name	Mob.No.	E-mail
President	9841305131	pandeyindraraj1947
Mr. Indra Raj Pandey	00-11003101	@gmail.com
Vice President		
Prof. Dr. Arjun Kumar	9855052791	akshrestha@afu.edu.np
Shrestha		
General Secretary	9855051884	rajendrakrl@gmail.com
Mr. Rajendra Koirala	3055051004	rajendrakri@gman.com
Secretary	9851161952	atreyapadma@gmail.com
Mr. Padma Nath Atreya	3031101332	avreyapadına@gman.com
Treasurer	9841313634	sanjaydhimal2012@qmail.com
Mr. Sanjay Dhimal	3041313034	Sanjayanimai20 12@gman.com
Members		
Dr. Giridhari Subedi	9858320547	subedigiridharinarc@gmail.com
Dr. Puspa Raj Poudel	9851133584	poudelpuspa @yahoo.com
Dr. Bishnu Chapagain	9851100095	bishnu.bgu@gmail.com
Mr. Arun Khanal	9851222990	arunkhanaloom @gmail.com

#### **MEMBERS**

There are about 255 life members from various institutions such as DoA, NARC, IAAS, ADBIN, AIC, SEAN, NGOs, INGOs, and freelancers.

#### FINANCIAL RESOURCES

- Grants from national and international donor agencies and governments,
- Membership fees,
- Funds obtained from consultancy services,
- Sales of publications, advertisement and etc.

### **OFFICE ADDRESS**

# NEPAL HORTICULTURE SOCIETY (NHS) Lalitpur, Nepal

**E-mail:** nepalesehorticulture@gmail.com **Website:** www.horticulturenepal.com

"Post COVID Horticulture for Food and Nutrition Security"

# National Horticulture Seminar 2077 (2021)



Falgun 20-21, 2077 [4-5<sup>th</sup>March, 2021]

Venue: Warm Temperate Horticulture Centre Auditorium, Kirtipur, Kathmandu

**JOINTLY ORGANIZED BY** 

Nepal Horticulture Society (NHS)

National Center for Fruit Development (NCFD)

National Center for Potato, Vegetable and

Spice Crop Development (NCPVSD)

# 12TH NATIONAL HORTICULTURE SEMINAR 2077 (2021)

#### Introduction:

The joint meeting of Nepal Horticulture Society (NHS), National Centre for Fruit Development (NCFD) and National Centre for Potato, Vegetable and Spice Crop Development (NCPVSD) held on 19th Magh, 2077 (February 1st, 2020) at the National Centre for Potato, Vegetable and Spice Development, Kirtipur decided to organize an Interactive National Horticulture Seminar with the involvement of all experts, agribusiness and entrepreneurs in the field of horticulture and allied field during 3rd week of Falgun, 2077, as per the approved Annual Program of 2077/78 of NCPVSD.

## **Objectives:**

- 1. To analyze the effect of Post COVID-19 on livelihood of Nepalese people and suggest government of three layers the appropriate means to improve Food and Nutrition Security and Income generation through Horticultural Crops production, preservation, consumption and marketing.
- 2. To recommend policies and strategies to establish and develop resource centers in federal, provincial and local level governments, for strengthening the sustainable development of horticulture.
- 3. To provide appropriate policy recommendation to government to strengthen quality regulations of horticultural planting materials (seed and saplings) and horticultural products for import substitutions and export promotion with business promotion.
- 4. To analyze and suggest practical approaches for the smooth functioning of the horticultural research, education and extension system in a coordinated and integrated manner.

# Organizers:

Nepal Horticulture Society, National Centre for Potato, Vegetable and Spice Crop Development, National Centre for Fruit Development.

Date: Falgun 20-21, 2077 (March 4-5, 2021) Venue: Warm Temperate Horticulture Centre, Kirtipur Theme: "Post COVID Horticulture for Food and Nutrition

Security"

#### **Presentation:**

Thematic papers-3, Strategic and Review papers-3, Technical papers-10 and Provincial presentation-7 and Poster presentation-15.

# **Seminar Organizing Committees:**

# **Advisory Committee**

Dr. Yogendra Kumar Karki, Secretary, MoALD

Dr. Govinda Prasad Sharma, DG, DoA

Dr. Deepak Bhandari, ED, NARC

Dr. Kishor Dahal, HOD, DoH, T.U. IAAS

....., HOD, DoH, AFU

NHS' Past Presidents:

Dr. Trilokya Nath Shrestha

Mr. Shiv Bahadur Nepali Pradhan

Mr. Padam Prasad Shrestha

Mr. Bhairab Raj Kaini

Mr. Ram Badal Shah

Prof. Dr. Gyan Kumar Shrestha

Mr. Mohan Bahadur Thapa

Dr. Umed Pun

# **Overall Management Committee**

Coordinator: Mr. Basu Dev Kaphle

Members: Mr. Indra Raj Pandey

Dr. Hari Bahadur K.C.

Dr. Shanta Karki

Mr. Kaushal K. Poudel

Dr. Ariun Kumar Shrestha

Dr. Ishwari Prasad Gautam

Member Secretary: Mr. Sandip Subedi

# **Event Management Committee**

Coordinator: Mr. Bharat Bahadur Acharya

Members: Mr. Rajendra Koirala

Mr. Dinesh Sapkota

Mrs. Sarita Gautam

Mrs. Ranju Maharjan

Mr. Sanjay Dhimal

Mrs. Mahima Bajracharya

Mr. Gagan Singh K.C.

Mrs. Pramila Wagle

Mrs. Sapana Khapung

Mr. Chiranjivi Aryal

Member Secretary: Mr. Mitra Bandhu Bhattarai

#### **Fund and Finance Committee**

Coordinator: Mr. Kaushal Kumar Poudel

Members: Mr. Gopal Shrestha

Ms. Yam Kumari Shrestha

Dr. Bishnu Chapagain

Mr. Suresh Bhakta Shrestha

Member Secretary: Mr. Sanjay Dhimal

# **Program Committee**

Coordinator: Dr. Puspa Raj Paudel

Members: Prof. Dr. Arjun Shrestha

Dr. Giridhari Subedi

Mr. Rajendra Koirala

Mr. Sudeep Devkota

Mr. Surya Prasad Baral

Member Secretary: Mr. Sandip Subedi

#### **Editorial Committee**

Coordinator: Prof. Dr. Shanta Man Shakya

Members: Dr. Puspa Raj Paudel

Dr. Umed Pun

Dr. Umesh Acharya

Dr. Kishor Dahal

Mr. Madhu Sudhan Ghimire

Member Secretary: Mr. Padma Nath Atreya

# **Award Management Committee**

Coordinator: Mr. Kaushal Kumar Poudel

Members: Mr. Gopal Prasad Shrestha

Mr. Surya Prasad Baral

Mr. Bal Krishna Adhikari

Member Secretary: Mr. Madhu Sudhan Ghimire

#### **Poster Evaluation Committee**

Coordinator: Mr. Bal Krishna Adhikari

Members: Mr. Riti Singh

Mr. Tek Prasad Gotame

Member Secretary: Mr. Padma Nath Atreya